Yogi Adityanath to Take Oath as 32nd CM of UP

Yogi Adityanath

Now all the suspense and the speculations about the Uttar Pradesh CM is over, the BJP parliamentary board has picked Gorakhpur MP Yogi Adityanath as the next chief minister of Uttar Pradesh. The firebrand Member of Parliament from Gorakhpur will become the 32nd Chief Minister of the state.

The state will also have two deputy CMs — Keshav Prasad Maurya and Dinesh Sharma. Oath taking ceremony of Yogi Adityanath and Deputy CMs will take place at 2:15 pm tomorrow in UP, PM Narendra Modi and party chief Amit Shah to also remain present.

Yogi Adityanath, the BJP’s five-time parliamentarian, joined a party meeting of the 312 newly-elected MLAs in state capital Lucknow, called to formally elect their new leader. Adityanath’s name of the chief minister was proposed by BJP leader Suresh Khanna and was supported by the Union Urban Development Minister M Venkaiah Naidu.

Yogi Adityanath, who has massive influence in eastern UP, was seen as the most popular leader among the BJP’s cadres in the state. According to the various sources, Aditynath was the party’s top choice for Chief Minister, as well as RSS also vetoed for him. He is also the second youngest chief minister of the biggest electoral state of the country.

Yogi Adityanath, whose real name is Ajay Singh Negi; is the head priest of the Gorakhnath Mutt, in Gorakhpur. In the 12th Lok Sabha, Adityanath was the youngest member. He was of 26th that time.