India vs Sri Lanka 2017: Yuvraj Singh Dropped; Manish Pandey Returns

India vs Sri Lanka 2017

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) on Sunday has announced the 15 man squad for the upcoming ODI series and one-off T20I against Sri Lanka which is scheduled to start on August 20. The Virat Kohli will lead the team in ODI series and a T20 match against Sri Lanka. Manish Pandey, who recently led India A to victory in a tri-series tournament and also finished as the highest scorer for the team in the tournament has been rewarded for his performances with a call back into the squad.

Yuvraj Singh was dropped from the Indian squad for the limited overs series against Sri Lanka in what could possibly signal an end to his illustrious international career. A two-time World Cup winner and one of India’s finest limited overs exponent, the 35 year old Yuvraj Singh’s place was always under the scanner.

The young spinners – Kuldeep Yadav and Yuzvendra Chahal also found a place in the squad. The main surprise was Yuvraj Singh who was rested by the selectors.while Dinesh Karthik and Rishabh Pant also missed the cut. Meanwhile, right-handed batsman Manish Pandey makes it back to the squad. upcoming ODI series and one-off T20I against Sri Lanka.

Keeping an eye on the big home series coming up against Australia in September, the selectors decided to rest the likes of Mohammed Shami, Umesh Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja and Ravichandran Ashwin.

The team is as follows:

Virat Kohli (captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma (vice-captain), KL Rahul, Manish Pandey, Ajinkya Rahane, Kedar Jadhav, MS Dhoni (wicketkeeper), Hardik Pandya, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Shardul Thakur.