IPL 2017 Countdown: Kolkata Knight Riders (#KKR) Squads & Stats


The Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) franchise in the Indian Premier League (IPL) is owned by Bollywood actor Shah Rukh Khan, actress Juhi Chawla and her spouse Jay Mehta. The team is currently captained by Gautam Gambhir and coached by Jacques Kallis, a former KKR player and the world’s most renowned and trusted all-rounder from South Africa. The home of the KKR team is Eden Gardens, the largest cricket stadium in India. The Kolkata Knight Riders became the IPL champions for the first time in 2012, by defeating Chennai Super Kings in the final and repeated the feat in 2014, defeating Kings XI Punjab. The Knight Riders hold the record for the longest winning streak by any Indian team in T20s. KKR captain Gautam Gambhir is the most run getter for the side, whereas the leading wicket-taker is Sunil Narine. The official theme of the team is “Korbo, Lorbo, Jeetbo Re.”